2010 CATA Conference Summary

The 2010 Conference was again held at Beaver Run from August 23rd through the 26th great success.  Though attendance was down 15% to our lowest in the past 5 years, all who attended were rewarded with an excellent array of affordable classes and the camaraderie and networking opportunities provided by 275 attendees from 43 different counties across the state. Click here for the CATA 2010 Annual Meeting Minutes and Photo Highlights. For a Map of participating counties click here.


In addition to the 13 different classes provided by the Colorado Division of Property Taxation specific to Colorado’s property tax system, we were able to provide 12 other appraisal courses provided by industry leaders such as the American Society of Farm Managers and Rural Appraisers (ASFMRA), Kaplan Professional Schools and American Society of Appraisers (ASA).

We were happy to invite back our good friend James Felt for his Colorado Water Law classes and were very excited to have James Canestaro and his classes on Commercial and Residential Construction return for a second year.  In addition, this was the second year we contracted with Harry Fuller to provide the annual USPAP update courses. Harry was well received and we hope to bring him back next year. As always, we try to provide a wide range of courses that will enhance our knowledge of appraisal and be applicable to our daily jobs as assessment appraisers.


Our conference could not be successful each year without the contributions made by the various vendors who participate every year. This year’s Vendors and their contributions were:

Colorado Customware, Inc. — Nametag lanyards
Manatron — Information Booth
Tyler Technologies — Information Booth and sponsor for Wednesday hot breakfast
Wild Roses Audit — Monday night Pizza Party

We would like to thank these fine companies for helping us provide a quality educational and informative experience for all our attendees.



Each year we ask all participants to complete a conference evaluation survey to help us understand what worked and what changes we could make to improve our conference each year. This year we had 61 survey responses and will take all comments into account for next year’s program. Thank you to all that filled out the survey. Your input is greatly appreciated. Click for a summary of the 2010 Conference Evaluation Survey.


The 2011 Conference planning is already underway. We will be coming back to Beaver Run in Breckenridge, with the conference being held August 29-September 1. We hope to have another informative session and provide everyone some great classes and keep our costs down to keep it as affordable as possible.


The election of board members was successful in 2010 for the 2011 Board.

Your 2011 Board of Directors are as follows:

President – Chris Bellegante (Boulder County)
1st Vice President – Sara Thorpe  (Jefferson County)
2nd Vice President – Andrew Hassinger (Denver County)
Secretary – Violet Watt (Teller County)
Treasurer – Mike Peterson (Summit County)
Board Member – Bonnie Embry (Eagle County)
Board Member – Kevin Cassidy (Eagle County)
Board Member – Laura Burtschi (Gilpin County)

Click here for 2010 Conference Statistics.