2012 CATA Conference Summary

The 2012 CATA Conference was a celebration of our 50th anniversary as an organization and we did it right!  We jumped right in on Monday with our first ever 4-day Qualifying education class, the Income Approach taught by Dick Gilmore from the ASFMRA, and continued through the week with more great QE classes from Kaplan Professional Schools (Residential Highest and Best Use) and James Canestaro (Evaluating Commercial Construction).  We also added a great array of four different classes from McKissock , a new participant at CATA.  We were able to provide 13 different DPT classes along with 10 classes from appraisal industry providers American Society of Farm Managers and Rural Appraisers (ASFMRA), International Association of Assessing Officers (IAAO), Kaplan Professional Schools, McKissock and our friends and long time supporters James Canestaro, James Felt and Harry Fuller from Wildrose Appraisals.    Click here for the CATA 2012 Annual Meeting Minutes and 2012 Photo Highlights.

Our attendance remained steady with 279 attendees from 41 Colorado counties participating, including 22 county assessors. For a map of Participating counties, click here for the 2012 County Map.

We had great support for our conference from vendors as well.  McKissock and Kaplan Professional Schools providing vendor displays, APEX Software provided a Mobile Technology workshop and Wildrose Appraisal sponsored the Monday pizza party.  We celebrated our 50th anniversary with a guest speaker at our Tuesday night dinner meeting.  Scott Friedman, a local humorist and motivational speaker provided the membership with an entertaining evening that celepbrated our 50 years as an organization and all that we do for the counties we work for.  We had a lot of great door prizes, with donations from Beaver Run, Mckissock, Kaplan, and Marshall Mungle from OneOK.  Tyler Technologies and Value West also contributed to our 50th anniversary celebration, with donations to the dinner and to the Wednesday night Karaoke night and Dance.

Of course the Conference would not be a success without the efforts and support from the Colorado Division of Property Taxation (DPT) and the Colorado Assessors Association (CAA).  We are able to keep our class expenses low through their generous donations of time and effort, as well the monetary contributions from the CAA.

Participation in our Conference evaluation Surveys were down this year, with only 18% of attendees responding.  Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated and we will work to make next year’s conference better based on your feedback.  To review the summary of the 2012 Conference Evaluation Summary, click here.

Your 2013 Board of Directors are as follows:

President – Andrew Hassinger (Boulder County)
1st Vice President – Kevin Cassidy (Eagle County)
2nd Vice President – Bonnie Embry (Eagle County)
Secretary – Violet Watt (Teller County)
Treasurer – Mike Peterson (Summit County)
Board Member – Sean Horbert (Chaffee County)
Board Member – Angela Kanack (Park County)
Board Member – Sara Thorpe (Jefferson County)

Click here to view the 2012 Conference Statistics.pdf