2014 CATA Conference Summary

The 2014 CATA Conference was a held at Beaver Run Resort in Breckenridge. We presented a wide array of classes with 15 DPT classes and 19 from appraisal industry providers. Our goal of including commercial appraisal classes was accomplished with the presentation of Hotel/Motel from the DPT, Commercial Portfolio Modeling by Steve Kane, Marshal & Swift – I love the Cost Approach from Harold McCloud, and Dean Wilson’s Intro to Commercial Appraisal and Allocating Components in a Going Concern. We also had a diverse group of classes for both qualifying education for license upgrades and continuing education courses from the DPT, McKissock, Kaplan, James Canestaro, Dick Gilmore with ASFMRA, James Felt’s Water Law, Harry Fuller and Steve Kane with Wildrose Appraisal, Steve Snyder from the IAAO, and once again Dean Wilson. Click here for the CATA 2014 Annual Meeting Minutes and 2014 Photo Highlights.

Our attendance remained steady with 249 attendees from 40 Colorado counties participating, including 20 County Assessors. For a map of Participating counties, click here for the 2014 County Map. Click here to review the 2014 Conference Statistics.

We had great support for our conference from vendors as well. Tyler and Kaplan Professional Schools providing vendor displays, Tyler also provided a work shop on “Our Ever Changing Technologies.” Harry Fuller from Wildrose Appraisal sponsored the Monday night welcome reception and conference kick off at Breckenridge Brewery which was a great success. Our Tuesday night dinner meeting was also a great success. John Zimmerman from Value West contributed a keg of beer at the bar and many great door prizes were given out, including door prize donations from Beaver Run, McKissock, Kaplan, and Marshall Mungle from OneOK. Thank you Harry, John, and all of our great donors!

Of course the Conference would not be a success without the efforts and support from the Colorado Division of Property Taxation (DPT) and the Colorado Assessors Association (CAA). We are able to keep our class expenses low through their generous donations of time and effort, as well the monetary contributions from the CAA.

Participation in our Conference Evaluation Surveys was greatly enhanced this year with our implementation of using emails and a Survey Monkey. We went from 52 responses in 2012 and 24 responses in 2013 to a whopping 110 in 2014!! Thanks so much for your participation! Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated and we will work to make next year’s conference better based on your feedback. To review the summary of the 2014 Conference Evaluation Summary, click here.

Your 2014 Board of Directors is as follows:

President – Bonnie Embry (Eagle County)
1st Vice President – Mike Williams (Arapahoe County)
2nd Vice President – Karen Hart (Arapahoe County)
Secretary – Kevin Cassidy (Eagle County)
Treasurer – Mike Peterson (Summit County)
Board Member – Rick Galvan (Boulder County)
Board Member Brook Moyer (Montrose County)
Board Member – Karin Turner (Teller County)