2015 CATA Conference Summary

The 2015 CATA Conference was held at The Village at Breckenridge. It was great to change venues for a year and be closer to town and experience what The Village had to offer. We presented a wide array of classes with 11 DPT classes and 12 appraisal education provider classes. James Elliott with McKissock returned with a few new and exciting courses, Appraisal of Assisted Living Facilities and Appraisal of Self Storage Facilities. Deane Wilson also had a new class, Applied Multi-Family Appraising 5+ units. There were some great new courses for our commercial appraisers. Also returning for 2015 was Harry Fuller and Steve Kane with Wildrose Appraisal, James Felt, Garth Thimgan and Steve Snyder with IAAO classes, and Dick Gilmore with ASFMRA.

Click here for the CATA 2015 Annual Meeting Minutes and the 2015 Photo highlights.

Our attendance remained steady with 241 attendees representing 39 counties throughout Colorado. Click here for a map of participating counties: Map of 2015 Participating Counties. Once again Harry Fuller sponsored the Monday night welcome reception and conference kickoff at Breckenridge Brewery, which was again a great success. Tuesday night followed with another great business meeting dinner. John Zimmerman from Value West contributed a keg of beer and many great door prizes were handed out, including door prize donations from Marshall Mungle with OneOk and Paul Beacom with KE Andrews who donated an iPad Mini! A big thanks to all our generous donors.

Of course the conference would not be a success without the efforts and support from the Colorado Division of Property Taxation (DPT) and the Colorado Assessors Association (CAA). We were able to keep our class expenses low through their generous donations of time and effort, as well as the monetary contributions from the CAA. Our annual statistics continue to show that you get a lot of education for your money at our annual conference. Click here to review the 2015 conference statistics.

Thank you to all the attendees that contributed their time to the Survey Monkey Conference Evaluation questionnaire. This helps us to determine ways we can improve our annual conference. Your comments and feedback are greatly appreciated and we will work on making next year’s conference better than ever. To review the summary of the 2015 Conference Evaluation, click here.

Your 2015 Board of Directors are:

President – Mike Williams (Arapahoe County)

1st Vice President – Karen Hart (Arapahoe County)

2nd Vice President – Brook Moyer (Montrose County)

Secretary – Kevin Cassidy (Eagle County)

Treasurer – Mike Peterson (Summit County)

Board Member – Rick Galvan (Boulder County)

Board Member – Miriam Hawkins (Mesa County)

Board Member – Lisa Schober (Eagle County)

Board Member – Bonnie Embry (Eagle County)