2016 CATA Conference Summary

The 2016 CATA Conference was held at The Village at Breckenridge for the second year in a row. Once again it was great to be so close to all the stores and restaurants Breckenridge has to offer. We presented a wide array of classes with 12 DPT classes and 15 appraisal education provider classes. Kaplan presented 2 separate 2 day QE classes. Jim Felt returned with the always popular Colorado Water Law I. Due to the popularity of this class, Jim put together a Water Law II class just for CATA, which was very well received with 60 students in attendance. Stephen Thomas presented a brand new class, Assessors Blueprint Reading Plans on Monday afternoon. Steve Snyder, was back once again, and presented a two day class – Marshall & Swift Cost Valuation – Commercial, which was available as either QE or CE. Deane Wilson presented Allocating Components in Going Concern Appraisals and Ethics in Appraising. Also returning for 2016 were Harry Fuller and Steve Kane with Wildrose Appraisal, and Dick Gilmore with ASFMRA. Click here for the CATA 2016 Annual Meeting Minutes and the 2016 Photo Highlights.

Our attendance remained steady with 254 attendees representing 39 counties throughout Colorado. Click here for a map of participating counties: Map of 2016 Participating Counties. Once again Harry Fuller sponsored the Monday night welcome reception and conference kickoff at a new location, Napper Tandy’s Irish Pub. The larger venue, delicious food, and wonderful company contributed to another successful event. On Tuesday evening, we had another great business meeting dinner. John Zimmerman from Value West contributed a keg of beer. A fabulous assortment of door prizes were handed out during the evening, including a lovely gift basket from Marshall Mungle with OneOk, an I-pad mini 2 from Paul Beacom with KE Andrews, and certificates for CE classes from Kaplan. There were also several gift cards and another I-pad mini 2 contributed by CATA. A big thanks to all our generous donors.

Of course the conference would not be a success without the efforts and support from the Colorado Division of Property Taxation (DPT) and the Colorado Assessors Association (CAA). We were able to keep our class expenses low through their generous donations of time and effort, as well as the monetary contributions from the CAA. Our annual statistics continue to show that you get a lot of education for your money at our annual conference. Click here to review the 2011-2016 Conference Statistics.

Thank you to all the attendees that contributed their time to the Survey Monkey Conference Evaluation questionnaire. This helps us to determine ways we can improve our annual conference. Your comments and feedback are greatly appreciated and we will work on making next year’s conference better than ever. Click here to review the CATA 2016 Conference Evaluation Survey Summary.

Your 2016 Board of Directors are:
President – Bonnie Embry (Eagle County)
1st Vice President – Miriam Hawkins (Mesa County)
2nd Vice President – Karen Hart (Arapahoe County)
Secretary – Lisa Schober (Eagle County)
Treasurer – Mike Peterson (Summit County)
Board Member – Brook Moyer (Montrose County)
Board Member – April Mycock (Boulder County)
Board Member – Jackie Headley (Adams County)